right now

District Tourism Promotion Council of Wayanad was established in 1989 under Department of Tourism, Government of Kerala exclusively for promoting Tourism in Wayanad under the Chairman ship of the  District Collector of Wayanad. It is an autonomous body constituted to implement new schemes/projects and coordinates and streamline the integrated development of tourism in Wayanad District.

The following facilities are provided by the DTPC

  • Managing Important Tourist Destinations in Wayanad District
  • Tourist Information Centers
  • Connectivity Developments
  • Basic Infrastructure Developments
  • Wayanad Darsan (Conducted Tours)
  • Guide Services
  • Accommodation Services
  • Wildlife and Adventure trekking
  • River Rafting
  • Camping facilities

DTPC Wayanad was awarded the best Performing DTPC in Kerala for the years of 2002-2003, 2003-2004 and 2004-2005 by Department of Tourism Government of Kerala.

Two active DMC’s (Destination Management Council) are working under DTPC, Wayanad

  • Edakkal DMC
  • Kuruva DMC

MLAs of Sulthan Bathery and Mananthavady are holding the Chairmanships and the Secretary of DTPC is the Chief Executive Officer of the above mentioned DMCs.